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TENANT RIGHTS 

P
roblems with landlords are common for students living off-campus.  Unaware of their rights as a tenant, and
the laws regarding landlord tenant issues, college students often get into sticky situations involving leases in
Maryland.  Renting requires some sort of rental agreement between the landlord and tenant.  It is important

that you understand the commitments made in these contracts so that misunderstandings can be avoided.  Here is a
brief discussion of the rental process at each stage.

**Student housing in dormitories, etc., which is provided by colleges and universities does not usually involve a lease agreement
between the student and the college or university and therefore landlord-tenant laws do not apply.**

MOVING IN

Application Fees
Most landlords will charge an application fee to cover costs of processing an application, such as running a credit
check.  If a landlord rents five or more units at one location, he/she is entitled to keep an application fee of $25 or
less.  If the fee is more than $25, the landlord must refund any amount that was not actually used to process your
application.  

If, at the time you fill out an application, a landlord asks for money to hold an apartment, it may not be clear to you
that you are being asked for a security deposit.  It is wise not to pay a security deposit until your application has been
accepted and you are signing a lease.  Before you pay any money, you should confirm with the landlord whether it
will be refunded if you decide not to rent the apartment or if the landlord decides not to rent to you.  Have the
landlord write this information on a receipt–it could save you from fighting to get the money refunded later on.  

Signing the Lease
Oral agreements are legal in Maryland for lease terms that are less than one year, but it is highly recommended that
you obtain all agreements in writing.  For a tenancy that is a year or longer, a written lease is required.  Landlords
who offer five or more housing units in Maryland must offer a written lease and must specify the landlord and
tenant’s obligations as to heat, gas, electricity, water and repair of the premises in the lease.  You may also negotiate
your own additional terms or modify terms beyond those covered by law.  Both you and your landlord must initial
any change in the lease.  

Your lease may not: 

• Include terms that ask you to waive or diminish your rights under the law;

• Impose a late rent penalty fee higher than 5 percent of the amount owed (or $3.00 per week if rent is paid
weekly);

• Give the landlord the right to evict or take any of your personal possessions without a court judgment;

• Provide for less than 30 days notice to terminate your lease.

Tip:  If you request it in writing, a landlord must give you a copy of a lease before you decide whether to rent.  It must include all
terms agreed upon, complete in every detail, but it does not have to state your name and address, the date you are moving in, or
identification and rental rate of your unit.  This will ensure that you do not lose a portion or all of your security deposit to “hold”
an apartment.  It is best not to pay any money until you know for sure that’s the apartment you want to rent.

Security Deposits 
A security deposit is any money paid to a landlord that protects the landlord against damage to the rented property in
excess of ordinary wear and tear, failure to pay rent, or expenses incurred due to a breach of lease. A security



deposit may not be more than two months rent. If you are overcharged you have the right to recover up to three
times the extra amount charged. You must receive a receipt for the security deposit, which may be included in the
lease. The landlord must put the security deposit in an escrow account. When returning deposits of $50 or more, the
landlord must include simple interest of 3 percent per year, accrued at six-month intervals from the date the security
deposit was paid for any tenancy entered into prior to January 1 2015.  For tenancies that began January 1, 2015 or
later, the  interest rate is payable at 1.5% OR the simple interest rate accrued at the daily U.S. Treasury  yield curve
rate for one year, as of the first business day of each year, whichever is greater.  The Department of Housing and
Community Development has a Rental Security Deposit Calculator on its website at www.dhcd.maryland.gov to
make calculation of this interest rate easier.  A landlord must pay 4 percent on deposits held before Oct. 1, 2004.

To avoid disputes...
• Make sure when you apply to rent, you are signing an application, not a lease.  Do not sign a lease or pay a

security deposit until you are certain you want to rent the apartment or house.

• Ask the landlord for a written list of any damages that already exist in the rental unit.  You are entitled to
receive a written list of existing damages within 15 days of taking occupancy, but you must request this list
from your landlord.  It is also a good idea to make a complete inventory of damages on your own.  Give a
copy to your landlord and keep a copy for yourself.  This prevents you from being held responsible for
damages when you move out and having your security deposit withheld.

LIVING IN AN APARTMENT
After selecting a place to live, it is important to maintain a good relationship with your landlord and your neighbors. 
This will help develop a good rental record, a good credit history and ensure a pleasant living situation for all parties.

Tips for Successful Apartment Living...
• Pay your rent on time.

• Avoid damaging the premises.

• Inform the landlord when repairs are needed.  Put your requests for repairs in writing and keep a copy for
your records.

• Inform the landlord, in writing and by certified mail, when you plan to move out with at least 30 days

           advance notice (or within the amount of time specified on the lease).

• Observe and follow local county and city laws.*

• Introduce yourself to neighbors.  Notify them if you plan to have a party.

• Keep the noise level down.

• Take responsibility for your guests and their behavior.

• Respect neighborhood parking regulations.

*Some Maryland cities and counties have enforced occupancy restrictions.  For example, the  occupancy in single-family dwellings is
limited to no more than four unrelated persons and occupancy in town homes is restricted to no more than three unrelated persons in
the city of Salisbury.  Enforcement may require all tenants to move out, with fines from $25-50 per day up to a $300 maximum and
court action.

Additionally, some Maryland cities and counties have also enforced noise ordinances restricting the use of loud audio equipment
during certain hours of the day.  Fines may be assessed for those disobeying the ordinances. 

When the Landlord Fails to Make Repairs
Under Maryland law, if a landlord fails to repair serious or dangerous defects in a rental unit, you have the right to pay
your rent into an escrow account established at the local district court.  However, the law is very specific about the



conditions that must exist before rent can be placed into escrow.  You must give the landlord proper notice and
adequate time to make the repairs.  Rent escrow is not provided for defects that just make the apartment or home less
attractive or comfortable, such as small cracks in the walls, floors or ceilings.  

The serious and/or dangerous conditions include:
• Lack of heat, light, electricity or water, unless you are responsible for the utilities and the utilities were shut

off because you didn’t pay the bill.
• Lack of adequate sewage disposal; rodent infestation in two or more units.
• Lead paint hazards that the landlord has failed to reduce and treat.
• The existence of any structural defect that presents a serious threat to your physical safety.
• The existence of any condition that presents a serious fire or health hazard.

In order to withhold rent for conditions that constitute a threat to life, health or safety you must notify the landlord by
certified mail, or the landlord must receive notice of the violations from an appropriate government agency such as the
local housing department.  

The landlord has a fair and reasonable time after receipt of the notice to correct the conditions.  If the landlord fails to
make repairs after you have attempted to notify him/her in writing, you can report the landlord to local authorities. 
The local authorities will investigate your complaints and, if the landlord is cited for violations, repairs will have to be
made.

You may go to court to file a rent escrow action asking to pay rent to the court.  Before an escrow account can be
established, the court will hold a hearing to listen to both sides of the story.  If the facts call for a rent escrow account
to be set up, the judge can take several actions.  All or part of your escrow rent money can be returned to you as
compensation, all or part of your escrow rent money can be returned to you or the landlord to make repairs, or a
special administrator can be appointed to ensure that the repairs are made.  Once the escrow account is established,
you must continue to regularly pay rent into this account until the Court orders otherwise.  Follow the procedures
required in your local county or city laws for setting up an escrow account.

MOVING OUT
The landlord must return a tenant’s security deposit plus interest, less any damages, within 45 days after the tenancy
ends.  If the landlord withholds any part of your security deposit, he or she must send you a written list of damages,
with a statement of what it actually costs to repair the damages, by first-class mail to your last known address within
45 days after you move out.  If the landlord fails to return the security deposit, you have the right to sue for up to
three times the deposit, plus reasonable attorney’s fees.  

Normal Wear and Tear
A landlord may not deduct charges from your security deposit for normal wear and tear on the premises.  For
instance, if you have left small holes in the wall from hanging pictures that would be considered wear and tear. 
However, if you have knocked a hole in the wall that would require drywall or plaster, that would be considered
damage.  Common sense suggests that carpeting will need to be replaced periodically, and walls will need repainting
due to wear and tear.  A landlord must expect to bear these costs as part of doing business.  

You have the right to be present when the landlord inspects your rental unit for damages at the end of your lease.  To
exercise this right, you must notify the landlord in writing by certified mail, at least 15 days prior to moving out, of
your intention to move, the date of your move, and your new address.  Many leases contain provisions outlining how
many days notice you have to give the landlord if you do not wish to renew the lease–make sure you give enough
advance notice as outlined in the lease.  The landlord must then notify you by certified mail of the time and date of the
inspection.  The inspection must be held within five days before or after your move-out date.  If you are moving out of
state, make sure to inform the landlord in your letter of intention to move that you are moving out of the state and
request that the landlord perform the inspection a few days before you move out.



ADDITIONAL TENANTS’ RIGHTS INFORMATION AND ASSISTANCE
WITH RENTAL PROBLEMS

The Attorney General’s Office
The Attorney General’s Consumer Protection Division has a Mediation Unit that can help try to resolve a dispute with
a landlord. 

Downtown Baltimore Office
200 St. Paul Place, 16  Floorth

Baltimore, MD 21202-2021
Complaint Line: 410-528-8662 or D.C. metro area: 301-470-7534
9 a.m. to 3 p.m., M-F
Website: www.oag.state.md.us/consumer (Consumers can download a consumer complaint form)

Branch Offices:
Cumberland Telephone Assistance
301-722-2000
9 a.m. to 12 p.m., 3  Tuesday of each monthrd

Frederick Telephone Assistance
301-694-1071
9 a.m. to 1 p.m., 2  and 4  Thursday of each monthnd th

Western Maryland Branch Office
44 N. Potomac St., Suite 104
Hagerstown, MD 21740
301-791-4780
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Mon-Fri.

Eastern Shore Branch Office
201 Baptist Street
Salisbury, MD 21801
410-543-6620
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Mon-Fri.

Find out if your county has its own landlord-tenant laws that might offer you extra protection. Although the
Consumer Protection Division covers the entire state, two counties have a consumer affairs division that can try to
help you with your dispute:

Howard County Office of Consumer Affairs
6751 Columbia Gateway Drive
Columbia, Maryland 21046
410-313-6420

Montgomery County Office of Landlord Tenant Affairs
100 Maryland Avenue, 4  Floorth

Rockville, Maryland 20850
240-777-3609

http://www.oag.state.md.us/consumer

