

MEDIA CONTACTS: <u>Press@oag.state.md.us</u> 410-576-7009

## PRESS RELEASE

## Coalition of Attorneys General Urge U.S. Senate to Oppose Confirmation of Scott Pruitt to the EPA

Letter Cites Deep Concerns that Pruitt's Actions Demonstrate the Rejection of EPA's Mission of Working with States

**BALTIMORE, MD** (January 19, 2017) – Maryland Attorney General Brian E. Frosh announced today that he has joined a coalition of nine Attorneys General in urging the Senate Environment and Public Works Committee to oppose the confirmation of Oklahoma Attorney General Scott Pruitt as Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).

The letter, sent Tuesday, argues that Pruitt is "openly hostile" to the EPA's mission of working with state, local and tribal governments to protect human health and the environment, and as attorney general, has made attacking the regulations that the EPA is charged with enforcing a key priority.

"This is not just a matter of policy difference; Mr. Pruitt has sought to tear apart the very notion of cooperative federalism that forms the foundation of our federal environmental laws," the Attorneys General wrote. "That cooperation makes it possible for states and the federal government, working together, to protect the health of the American people and the resources on which we depend."

The letter cites that Pruitt has filed a number of lawsuits seeking to block the EPA from fulfilling its obligations under the Clean Air Act. He has also been a vocal critic of the EPA's Clean Power Plan, and was part of a group of states that challenged the rule and obtained a stay of its implementation last year.

"As Attorney General of Oklahoma, Scott Pruitt led the charge against The Chesapeake Bay Program as well as many other environmental protection initiatives," said Attorney General Frosh. "His record shows stronger qualifications for the job of lobbyist for the American Petroleum Institute than as the steward of our country's air, water and natural resources."

The letter is signed by the attorneys general of Delaware, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island and Vermont.

The full letter can be found <u>here</u>.