

MEDIA CONTACTS: <u>Press@oag.state.md.us</u> 410-576-7009

## PRESS RELEASE

## Attorney General Frosh Joins New Brief in Net Neutrality Lawsuit Brief Urges DC Circuit to Vacate and Reverse FCC's Illegal Rollback of Net Neutrality

**BALTIMORE, MD** (August 21, 2018) – Maryland Attorney General Brian E. Frosh today joined a new brief in the lawsuit to block the Federal Communications Commission's (FCC) illegal rollback of net neutrality, urging the U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit to vacate and reverse the FCC's order. Attorney General Frosh is part of a coalition of 23 Attorneys General that filed suit earlier this year.

"The plan to kill net neutrality will hurt consumers and businesses across Maryland," said Attorney General Frosh. "The FCC's proposal to turn control of Internet access over to special interests will also jeopardize free speech."

The Attorneys General partnered with other government petitioners in the brief including the County of Santa Clara, Santa Clara County Central Fire Protection District, and the California Public Utilities Commission. The brief focuses on two critical issues: first, that the FCC's order is arbitrary and capricious, putting consumers at risk of abusive practices by broadband providers and jeopardizing public safety and second, that the FCC's order preempts state and local regulation of broadband service.

"For more than 15 years, the Federal Communications Commission has agreed that an open Internet free from blocking, throttling, or other interference by service providers is critical to ensure that all Americans have access to the advanced telecommunications services that have become essential for daily life. The recent Order represents a dramatic and unjustified departure from this long-standing commitment," the brief states.

The coalition of 23 Attorneys General is led by New York Attorney General Barbara Underwood. It collectively represents over 165 million people – approximately 50 percent of the U.S. population – and includes the Attorneys General of New York, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Mexico, New Jersey, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, and the District of Columbia.