

Media Contacts: Press@oag.state.md.us 410-576-7009

PRESS RELEASE

Attorney General Frosh Leads Coalition Urging FERC to Halt Fossil Fuel Infrastructure Projects During COVID-19 Crisis

BALTIMORE, MD (May 7, 2020) - Maryland Attorney General Brian E. Frosh today led a coalition of 11 attorneys general in calling on the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) to impose an immediate moratorium on approvals of all new and pending applications for natural gas pipelines, liquefied natural gas (LNG) export facilities, and related fossil-fuel infrastructure projects until the end of the COVID-19 crisis.

"The COVID-19 crisis has created unprecedented challenges to parties seeking to participate in FERC cases," said Attorney General Frosh. "Due process requires that FERC hit the pause button in pipeline proceedings until stakeholders are able to organize and raise their concerns without facing the obstacles posed by the pandemic."

In their <u>letter</u> to FERC, the attorneys general noted that fossil fuel infrastructure projects are frequently the subject of vigorous public debate and can have a profound on-the-ground impact on individuals and communities. A FERC permit enables a pipeline company to seize private land through eminent domain and to construct supporting infrastructure that may burden nearby communities with decades of pollution. Such projects also often run counter to state policies to confront climate change and promote the use of clean energy. Once approved there is often little that can be done to stop these projects from moving forward.

For these reasons, stakeholders such as landowners, state and local governments, and environmental and conservation groups are vital voices in FERC hearings and proceedings. The COVID-19 pandemic, however, imposes unique burdens on the public's ability to organize community interests and participate in FERC decision-making. In addition to Attorney General Frosh, the letter was signed by the attorneys general of Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Mexico, Oregon, Rhode Island, Virginia, and the District of Columbia.