

PRESS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: August 9, 2021

Media Contacts: press@oag.state.md.us 410-576-7009

Attorney General Frosh Calls for Faster Implementation of Anti-Robocall Technology

Urges the FCC to Accelerate Deadline for Adoption of STIR/SHAKEN

BALTIMORE, MD – Maryland Attorney General Brian E. Frosh today joined a bipartisan coalition of 51 attorneys general to urge the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) to fight back against the scourge of illegal robocalls by moving up the deadline for smaller telephone companies to implement caller ID technology.

Under the TRACED Act, which became law in 2019, phone companies are required to implement STIR/SHAKEN technology on their networks. This caller ID authentication technology helps ensure that telephone calls are originating from verified numbers, not spoofed sources. Large companies were required to implement the technology by June 2021, and smaller phone companies were given an extension until June 2023.

However, some of the same smaller phone companies that are benefitting from this extension are also responsible for originating or facilitating high volumes of illegal robocalls that spam Americans and lead to financial or personal data loss. And without the STIR/SHAKEN technology in place, these smaller companies are failing to take a necessary step to minimize the continued onslaught of illegally spoofed robocalls that harm residents.

"The technology to reduce the volume of irritating – and dangerous – robocalls is now available, and should be promptly implemented by all phone companies," said Attorney General Frosh. "In the interest of protecting consumers, the FCC should move up the deadline to comply with the TRACED Act."

The coalition of attorneys general are asking the FCC to require these companies to implement the STIR/SHAKEN technology as soon as possible and no later than June 30, 2022.

Attorney General Frosh is joined in submitting <u>today's comments</u> by the attorneys general of Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina,

North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

https://www.marylandattorneygeneral.gov/press/2021/080921.pdf