

PRESS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Media Contacts: press@oag.state.md.us 410-576-7009

Attorney General Brown Wins Court Order Stopping Dismantling of Department of Education

BALTIMORE, MD (May 23, 2025) – Attorney General Anthony G. Brown won a court order stopping the Trump administration's attempts to dismantle the Department of Education (ED). On March 13, Attorney General Brown joined a coalition of 20 other attorneys general in challenging the administration's plans to eliminate 50 percent of ED's workforce, "immediately" transfer student loan management and special education services to other agencies, and ultimately close the Department. Attorney General Brown and the coalition sought a preliminary injunction to immediately stop the mass layoffs and transfer of services. Today the U.S. District Court for the District of Massachusetts granted the <u>preliminary injunction</u>, halting the administration's policies that would dismantle ED and ordering all employees who were fired as part of the layoffs to be reinstated.

"Employees who work for the Department of Education help keep class sizes small, make sure students with disabilities get the care and support they deserve, and administer college loans and grants to young adults so they can one day land their dream job," **said Attorney General Brown**. "This preliminary ruling ensures Maryland schools and students will get the resources they need while we continue the fight for our children's future in court."

Attorney General Brown and the coalition successfully argued that the Trump administration's attacks on ED are illegal and unconstitutional. ED is an executive agency authorized by Congress—numerous laws create its various programs and funding streams. The coalition asserted, and the District Court agreed, that the executive branch does not have the legal authority to unilaterally dismantle ED without an act of Congress and that the mass layoffs violate the Administrative Procedures Act.

Joining Attorney General Brown in filing the lawsuit are the attorneys general of Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington, Wisconsin, Vermont, and the District of Columbia.

###